Hey Witch! First Shop Update of 2024

Also, big news from my home studio!

Spring Approaches & So Does a Shop Update!

First off, welcome to this new newsletter platform! I ended up on substack because it was the only service that made sense for my casual approach to letter-writing (eg. I’m not trying to make money from/send weekly emails, etc, so paying a monthly fee right off the bat seemed silly), but have also always been uncomfortable with their active monetary support of various anti-trans & extreme right wing content, so as soon as an appropriate alternative showed up, I happily left. Hopefully all my substack subscribers have been successfully migrated over & we’re good to go here!

& now, the GOOD STUFF!

As per usual, this update has a decent mix of weirdos in it - WoodsBeasts, ungulates, little pinch pot bowls, & more! I’ll be gradually getting a preview up in my shop in the next week or so, and the shop will open for business on Sunday, March 17th at 1pm EST.

Some more peeks at what’ll be in the shop this time:

A bunch of creatures who will be available in the upcoming shop update: ancient horses, WoodsBeasts, Perfectly Normal Owls, some vessels, and ungulates!

Studio Dude-ios
or, what’s going on at my pottery desk & beyond

I have a kiln now!!! I got this distinguished older ConeArt beauty off of facebook marketplace back in the fall (is there anything you can’t get off there?!) & then named it Calcifer & took my time getting it hooked up (I’m lucky to have an electrician for a father in law, so the electrical work was less painful financially than I expected, whew!), but she’s all fixed up now & running like a dream so far.

A photo of my first ever kiln load back in January (full of glaze testers)!

It’s an absolute joy to be able to fire my work in-house (though I’ll miss my visits with my lovely friend & talented potter Eva who’s been firing my work for the last few years!). Not having to put fragile greenware in a box & subject it to Ottawa’s bumpy, pothole’d, frost-buckled roads is such a treat, and it’s both intimidating & thrilling to be applying everything I learned while I was firing with Eva to my own kiln.

Some of the glaze effects from my first proper glaze firing!

I’m still juggling all my other work (including that graphic novel I mentioned a few updates back, which I really hope to be able to talk about more soon!) alongside pottery, so besides the next update, which will be coming up in a month or so, shop updates probably won’t be that much more frequent, at least for now. What I will be able to do is experiment more freely and maybe even produce some batches to sell locally once I’ve got my schedule figured out, so that’s neat stuff to get excited about, right?!

Thanks as always for reading & I’ll see you back here soon for shop update part two!